1950

THE BEGINNING

At the beginning of 1950 begins a big effort of EOT (Greek tourism organization) about the development of tourism and the building infracture. During the period from 1950 to 1958 Charallambos Sfaellos, the director of technical services of the newly-founded Greek National Tourism Organization, undertakes a construction project of Xenia. From 1957 to 1967 Aris Konstantinidis is the director of the Technical Office of Studies and he changes that office into a workshop of architectural thought with significant collaborators and important architects. It is important to notice that the overall approach is based on a solid theoretical background which is presented in the texts of Aris Konstantinidis and his texts analyze how to choose the appropriate space and angle, the importance of the landscape, the relations between the interior parts and the exterior parts, the simplicity and the clarity of the form, the honest use of materials, the standardization of the construction but also the desire to introduce these pieces in each place, making them the elements that make the whole project unique.

1967

The interior part of the building is shaped by modern architectural vision as it was said by P. Michelis in 1962 noting that “The EOT’s architecture projects embody the progress of the Greek architecture”. The buildings are very important for the Greek architecture because they constitute the biggest production of public buildings after the postwar period.

1972

In 1972 the hotel was bought by Papachristou brothers and they contributed to its restauration and to its continuous operation.

1981

In 1981 Theoxenia’s hotel rooms rised to 107 altogether. Since that time Theoxenia has undergone various renovations.

 

 

 
SCROLL TO TOP